Furious Flower: The Soundtrack

For our show “Furious Flower: A Celebration of the Greats of African American Poetry” Joanne Gabbin, the founder of Furious Flower, joins us in studio along with Lauren Alleyne to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the first academic center devoted to African American poetry in the United States.

The episode features poetry by Toni Morrison, Maya Angelou, Rita Dove and others who have appeared on With Good Reason. It also features a rich soundtrack by some of the great American Jazz artists. Below is the full soundtrack, and don’t hesitate to comment with your favorites!


You Don’t Know What Love Is – John Coltrane


Duke Ellington’s Sound of Love – Charles Mingus


Song For My Father – Horace Silver


Concierto de Aranjuez – Miles Davis


Little Girl Blue – Hank Jones


Moanin’ – Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers


Stolen Moments – Oliver Nelson Septet